Happy 60th Birthday Cake!

11 Dec

Carved 60 numbesThis weekend I made a wonderful almond cake in the shape of a 60! It is so wonderful when you get a referral client. I made this cake for a person that attended, the Movie Cake party, the Tre Chic Party AND the Jungle Junction party. That just warms my heart that she though of me to make the cake for her fathers 60th Birthday! Feeling very blessed!

I recently came to the realization that I started doing this in April 2012. I started taking the wilton classes in January finished the 4th course in april and here I am 9 months later!!! Just amazing it almost seems unreal!

Anyways back to the cake! This recipe was to die for. I have always just added almond flavor to my vanilla cake recipe and voila Almond cake. I thought I would really try something different this time around. I found this great Almond Pound cake recipe from Paula Deen. If you are looking for an almond cake please try this recipe! On a side note my room mate and boyfriend ate all the cake scraps after carving with left over buttercream!

After baking I got to carving (see here for my post on how to do this). This time it was much easier that the Movie cake because I had a bit more experience (always bodes well) . That took about an hour to get all the pieces cut and frosted and assembled on the board. Then I covered in fondant and decorated it.

Covered 60 numbers

I used gold spray to give a air brushed affect across the top  and cut out some stars in black as accents. My client wanted little messages on the cake about her dad. I made those with fondant and painted the blue onto the ribbon for more of gloss effect and used edible markers for the other text.handpainted gold letters

For the message on the front my client loved the letters in the Jungle Junction cake so I melted down some chocolate and made the letters using one of the Plastic molds I like. I HAND PAINTED every one of them gold with edible luster dust. That took an hour because I had to make sure every spot was colored. Trust me I wished often why no one has invented golden and sparkly chocolate, or I just have not come across it yet.  I laid a thin strip of fondant down and placed the letters across the front of cake. Then I was finally done.

Finished cake 2
Finished cake 1

2 Responses to “Happy 60th Birthday Cake!”

  1. Diamond Ridge Processors - Cynthia Willis January 12, 2013 at 12:02 AM #

    Great, when I get back to 60 I expect mine. LoveDad. Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:59:19 +0000 To: diamondridgeprocessors@hotmail.com

  2. royalcookie December 11, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

    Great job!! I’m so impressed with how perfect the 6 came out!

Please Share...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

