These Snowmen Don’t Melt! – Holiday Themed Cupcakes and Cookies

22 Dec

Happy Holidays! Need to bring some yummy and cute cheer to your holiday? Make these easy confections and you will be the hit of any party!

Snowmen Cupcakes

The actually all look different like a little family!

I found these on a great website Confessions of cookbook Queen. I mean she has all sorts of things on there.

Make your favorite cupcakes and frost them. I put a little extra on the top of  mine so the the hat would have some support. To make the hat, cut the bottom quarter off of a large marshmallow, and attach the larger peice to an Oreo with Candy Melts. Once the marshmallow is attached securely, I dipped the whole thing in melted Candy Melts (I used black, but you could also just use chocolate or any other fun color), sprinkled with shiny sprinkles ( or any other fun snow like topping) and set on wax paper to harden. *You can get candy melts and the eyes in the cake decorating aisle at Walmart  ( not the baking aisle this one is near all the party stuff) or Michael’s, Joann’s or AC Moore.

I found the covering of the hats to take a while because the dipping left finger prints and smudges all over. I used the back of a knife or a smooth edged spatula to smooth the chocolate around the sides. Just looked lumpy if I dipped it. After they are dry place on top of frosted cupcake. Finish the cupcakes with the eyes and red nose. My nose was a red sour ball ( I only find them in Walgreens for some reason) I did not want to use the red hots because these cupcakes were for kids and I personally don’t like them. But you could also use fondant, skittles or cut pieces of starburst and roll them into a ball after warming for 10 seconds in microwave. There you go Snowman cupcakes!


photo

Christmas or Holiday Tree Cupcakes

These were easier than the snowman cupcakes !

Bake your Cupcakes,  color your frosting Green.Use a 2D tip perpendicular to the cupcake to frost. Let the frosting stack up upon itself as you slowly pull the frosting bag up and there you have it a tree! Top your tree with some holiday colored sprinkles I used red but you can use larger round balled sprinkles to look like ornaments. No Christmas tree is a tree without a star! I used yellow fondant to cut out stars and place them atop my trees. DONE!

Tip from the Scientist: If you are Jewish no worries use white  or blue frosting and a blue or silver star with silver sprinkles.

Holiday Tree Cupcakes

 

Snowflake Cookies

What winter holiday is complete without cookies! Make your favorite roll and cut cookiedough. I make them from scratch but the baking aisle has cookies in a bag that can be used for this complete with instructions on how to make the batter into roll and cut dough which is a bit harder than drop cookie dough. Roll out your dough out putting a good amount of flour on the surface so the dough does not stick. Get your favorite cookie cutters, I used snowflakes.  Cut out the shapes, bake and cool. I find putting the cookie dough in the fridge when I am not working with it helped the dough stay firm.

This is my first time putting designs on cookies. I normally just smooth on the frosting as best I can with a spatula and call it a day. However one must challenge themselves in the kitchen! I was inspired by one of the blogs I follow Carrie’s Creations . She is an amazing cookie baker and decorator ! So I got out my piping bag using a #3 tip and made some snowflakes. Here are just a few!

Christmas Cookies

Thanks again for stopping by! Please help me get to 100 likes on my  Facebook page. www.facebook.com/bakedbyselene

4 Responses to “These Snowmen Don’t Melt! – Holiday Themed Cupcakes and Cookies”

  1. Brittany December 22, 2012 at 9:01 PM #

    These cupcakes are GORGEOUS!!

    • TheBakedScientist December 23, 2012 at 4:28 PM #

      Thank you so much Brittany! Happy holidays.

      Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

  2. Carrie December 22, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    Love the 2 cupcake ideas!!

    The cookies look great, no one will guess that you’ve never done it before! Thanks for including me!

Please Share...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

