Summer 2013 Creations

8 Sep

As some of my followers know, in addition to baking, blogging and decorating, I am also a middle school teacher. So the summer months are quite lazy for me ( Don’t judge). Between Vacations, catching up on sleep and also the normal August ramp up for the school year, I sometimes don”t get to bake as much as I want. But here are some Yummy things i cooked up this summer!

Congrats to the Bride & Groom!

Cupcake TowerA wedding is an important occasion, so when I was asked months ago to make Tiffany Box styled cupcakes for Tiffany ( cute right), I was thrilled. My very first wedding. So as the day drew closer the anxiety built.  More and more, brides are turning to cupcakes for weddings as a more cost effective  option to cakes.  No worries about slicing and serving sizes one cupcake per person and the Bride gets the cake!

My client wanted a lot of cupcakes so my first task was to find a way to display them all! Hours of searching online led me to two options. Build my own stand using these instructions or purchase a stand. Now when it comes to building things I have no fear but, power tools, the Baked Scientist knows those are far way from my kitchen aid mixer and heavily used glue gun! So I purchased one from The Cup Cake Tree. These are nice and reusable as long as you do not put a lot of weight on them.

Collage

The cake was red velvet with cream cheese frosting. The cupcakes were plain and red velvet. This frosting is to die for and by far the best cream cheese frosting I have ever made!

Tips from the Scientist: Baking a lot of cupcakes? I make the decorations 2 days before the event, bake the cupcakes and make all the frosting the day before the event and and have a frosting field day the day of so everything looks fresh!

Are you a Party Animal?

Well, personally I think we all have a lil party animal inside us! I made some cupcakes and chocolate covered items for this themed party. Treats tables are getting very popular as a way to accessorize cakes. Even though I didn’t make this cake those are my strawberry shortcake cupcakes.

Full Table PictureChocolate Covered Pretzels and Strawberries

Cake

Tips from the Scientist: Anything can be a container. I like to keep an eye out at the dollar and craft stores for things on sale. These buckets were a dollar at Michaels and will some ribbon added they are so very cute! I have used plastic cups, glass jars, even colored plates to add some personalization to any table decor.

Welcome Baby Kai!

Dont you just love babies? One of my best friends asked me to make her shower cake. I love this cake and man did it taste good! The vanilla bean cake recipe was soooo good my friend froze pieces of it so that she could slowly savor its yumminess. ( Hey look I would have just ate it as fast as I could but thats her way)

The one thing that was against me with this cake was time. I had a very busy week and just didn’t get to put time into the details the way I wanted to.  I also made cupcakes and those cute button lollipops.

Welcome Baby Kai

Tip from the Scientist: SLEEP is required for intricate work, or at least for me. So time your confection creations accordingly! 

Please follow me on Instagram #ConciergeConfections and Like My facebook page

One Response to “Summer 2013 Creations”

  1. SugarNSpiceLily September 25, 2013 at 1:47 AM #

    Your frosting recipes were never posted. :(

Please Share...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

