What a Toffee Crunch Cookie Surprise!

21 May

Last weekend my sweetie made me cookies! He thought since I bake for him all the time he wanted to return the favor! (I feel so lucky!) So after we hung around the apartment on Friday night he wonders over to the kitchen. Casually he asked ” Hey hun where is the butter and stuff?” I say ” For?” He replies “I need the stuff to make you some cookies”. What a Surprise!

We had picked up the toffee at the supermarket earlier that week because I was going to make him some toffee cookies, I guess he had other plans! So naturally I had to get pictures of this.

The whole process was just hilarious to watch! He at first thought he should just dump all ingredients in the bowl and mix them. Or he did not quite know what it meant to “cream the butter and sugar”. I am glad I caught him. Imagine the first time you learned correctly measure dry ingredients or how to PROPERLY use a hand mixer. I think I am still finding dried cookie batter that splashed out of the bowl on he walls and floor. What I enjoyed was the perplexed look on his face. You know the ” am I doing this right?” face. Overall this was just a nice activity to do together. To teach him about the thing I love to do the most. So I was not making fun of him but I was thoroughly entertained.

And Let me tell you folks, they were sooooo  good!  Chewy, soft and the toffee gave them a light sweet crunch. I just loved them. After the first batch we had some extra batter and added some chopped nuts to them and that made them even better! So a big thanks to my sweetie for making me the happiest baker ever!

Recommendations from the Baked Scientist:

1. You can also add some chocolate chip morsels if you want a but more chocolate in them.

2. Any type of nut or dried fruit you love will add a nice crunch and flavor to these.

3. Be awesome to your significant other because one day they might just make you cookies or something else you love.

He found this recipe on Foodnetwork.com

Toffee Crunch Cookies

Recipe courtesy Jeannie Eddy (1st Place)

Prep Time: 15 min
Level: Easy
Serves: 45 cookies
Ingredients
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 (10-ounce) bag toffee candy bits
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup sweetened flake coconut
  • 1 cup chopped whole, skinned almonds

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream together the butter, sugar and vanilla. Beat the eggs slightly; then add to the butter mixture and mix well. Sift flour, salt and baking soda; then add slowly to the moist ingredients and mix thoroughly. Mix in the toffee bits, oatmeal, coconut and nuts.

Drop dough by the teaspoonful onto an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

One Response to “What a Toffee Crunch Cookie Surprise!”

  1. TheBakedScientist July 6, 2012 at 7:51 AM #

    Thank you for all the Likes! and a few new Followers!

Please Share...

