Are you a Fashionista?

30 Sep


Two weeks ago  made this cake for a my sisters co-worker’s boss! I was told she was a fashionista! So I made her a fashionista cake! Red velvet with cream cheese frosting in Pink and Green. Her favorite colors. I had some pieces left over from leveling the cake off, OMG delicious. I used Paula Deen’s recipe and man it just never fails!

I used these Fashionista cutouts i ordered from amazon for $5.00 to make the fondant decorations. I used edible marker to write on the ” I ❤ Shopping” and even personalized the purse and dress with pearls. I finished of the cake with a happy birthday and carefully places pearls all over. She was very Happy!

I just had one Challenge. SMOOTHING THAT FROSTING!

Let me tell you I think I HATE frosting cakes, I just can’t get the darn things smooth! How do those bakeries do it! I am going to source a nice cake smoother because I just can’t take this anymore! I will not let these cakes beat me. I know the key to smooth frosting is  the consistency of the icing, room temperature and technique. Something must be off. I know the wilton frosting is perfect and while learning i had no problems with it, but I just don’t like how it tastes. So i have been using my homemade recipes. It is one thing to just do the decorations but I want my cakes to be delicious and beautiful.  Just another challenge I WILL master!

 

Help my page Treats by Selene get 100 Likes on Facebook!  It would be greatly appreciated!

Share this:

Please Share...

