Classy Damask Print Confections

3 Dec
Demo of Damask print

Just what is Damask? Acording to Wikipedia Damask (Arabic: دمسق‎) is a reversible figured fabric of silk, wool, linen, cotton, or synthetic fibres, with a pattern formed by weaving. Damasks are woven with one warp yarn and one weft yarn, usually with the pattern in warp-faced satin weave and the ground in weft-faced or sateen weave. Twill damasks include a twill-woven ground or pattern.

Recently I have been seeing this classy print everywhere  on confections and stumbled on a stencil. There is an sample of the print done with black royal icing in the photo. I really wanted to use it and just so happened that I had a client having a birthday that wanted to showcase this classy print.

You can get the stencils online or any craft store. There are a variety of prints not just damask so have fun shopping,  they are however on the expensive side. Just so happened that a client was looking for some classy damask print cupcakes for her Tres Chic 30th birthday party.

Besides the wrappers, I didn’t know how I would use the decorations on the cupcakes. My clients do not like fondant but I knew I needed something to put the print on. So i made Marshmallow fondant! It is very easy to make but it was sticky fun. Check the recipe section for instructions.

I rolled out the fondant and covered it with damask print. I cut out squares to place as decoration on cup of cupcakes. I also covered some of the marshmallow fondant hot pink to fit the theme of party, and added some royal icing words. I brushed the squares with a little silver luster dust to had a little shimmer. Classy indeed.

Trio Tres Chic cupcakesTres Chic Cupcake decoTres Chic cupcakes box

Later that same week my very good friend Kim called me looking for a birthday cake. She has been a faithful supporter of my confections for a while and i was thrilled to be the person to make her red velvet birthday cake. Now Kim is a very classy lady so this print was perfect for her cake. Once I was done I realized it needed something. So I crafted a ‘K’ out of gum paste and glued on pink and silver rhinestones just for a little sparkle. She loved it!  Happy Birthday Kim!


Damask Birthday Cake

2 Responses to “Classy Damask Print Confections”

  1. Easy Online Print December 7, 2012 at 12:04 PM #

    Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

Please Share...

